LIst of first woman in India frequently asked in government exam

By Vikash Suyal | General knowledge | Aug 08, 2015
Here is the list of the first women or women personality which done some particular achievement in the Indian history, which may be ask in government exam. Go through the list below.

  •  Prime-Minister—Indira Gandhi

  • Chief Minister—Sucheta Kriplani

  • Winner of Nobel Prize—Mother Teresa (for peace)

  • Woman (India and World) who crossed English Channel through Swimming—Arti Shah

  • First Governor—Sarojini Naidu (U. P.)

  • First I. A. S.—Auna George Malhotra

  • First I. P. S.—Kiran Bedi

  • Chairman of NABARD—Ranjana Kumar

  • D. I. G. (Police)—Kanchan Chaudhry Bhattacharya

  • President of National Congress—Anne Besant

  • Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission—Rose-William Baithu

  • Awardee of Miss Universe—Sushmita Sen

  • Awardee of Miss World—Reeta Farhia

  • First Mayer—Tara Charian (Madras-1957)

  •  Minister in Central Cabinet—Rajkumari Amrit Kaur

  • Parliamentrian—Radhabai Subbarayan (1938)

  •  Judge of Supreme Court—Justice Meera Sahaib Fatima Bibi

  • Chief Justice of High Court—Justice Leela Seth (Himachal Pradesh)\

  • Session Judge of the Counting—Anna Chandi (Kerala)\

  • Mountaineer who climbed (Conquered) the Mt. Everest—Bacchendri Pal

  • Awardee of Norman Barlog Prize—Dr. Amrita Patil

  • Literature who was awarded the Sahitya Akademi award—Amrita Pritam (1956)

  • Honoured with ‘Bharat Ratna’—Indira Gandhi

  • Awardee of Lenin peace award—Aruna Asaf Ali

  • Awardee of Jananpith Purshkar—Asha Purna Devi (1976)

  •  Woman who reached ‘Antarctica’—Mahel Musa (1977)

  • Woman who reached the North Pole—Pritisu Gupta (1993)

  • Woman who travelled All round the world—Ujjawala Patil (1988) by Boat

  • Chief Engineer—P. K. Tresia Naguli

  • Pilot—Flying Officer Sushma Mukhopaddhyaya\

  • Air Lines Pilot—Capt. Durga Banerjee

  • Commander of Boeing 737 Plane—Capt. Saudamini Deshmukh

  • Paratrooper of Indian Air Force—Geeta Ghosh

  • First television news broadcaster—Pratima Puri

  • Participated in mustic programme of U.N.O.—M. S. Subbuluxmi (1966)

  • Woman participated in Olympic games—Meri Lila Row (1952)

  • Woman who won the medal in Olympic games—Malleshwari (weight lifting—Sydney)

  • Woman who won the Gold Medal in Asian games—Kamaljeet Sidhu (1970, 400 metre)

  • Woman who won the medal in Commonwealth games—Anil Ghiya and Kawal Thakur Singh (woman Doubles Badminton, 1978)

  • Medal winner in International Athletic Championship—Anju B. George (2003 Paris)

  • Grandmaster winner in Chess—Bhagiya Sri Thispey (1988)

  • One hundred wicket taker in International Cricket—Indulgi (1986)

  • Awardee of Arjun Purskar—N. Lamsden (Hockey, 1961)

  •  Woman who made hat-trick in football—Youlandade-Suza (1978)

  • Awardee of Ashok Chakra—Neerja Bhanot (Posthumously)

  • Awardee of Sena Medal—Vimla Devi (1988)

  • Degree of graduation—Kadambni Ganguly (Bose) and Chandramukhi Bose (Kolkata University, 1883)

  • Awardee of B. E. degree—Ella-Majumdar (1951)

  • M.B.B.S. Degree awardee—Vidhumuti Bose and Virginia Mitter (Kolkata Medical College)

  • First Surgeon—Dr. Prema Mukherjee

  • Deputy Governor of Reserve Bank—K. J. Udesi (2003)

  • Lieutenant General—Punita Arora

  • Chairman of Indian Air lines—Shushma Chawla

  • Represented the nation in all three games (Cricket, Hockey and Basketball)—Shrin Khushro Kiyasa

  • Barrister—Cornonia Sorabji (Allahabad High Court-1923)

  • Advocate—Regina Guha

  •  Ambassador—Vijayalaxmi Pandit (U.S.S.R.-1947)

  • Woman who crossed over Gibralter Strait by Swimming—Arati Pradhan

  • World Record in Powerlifting—Sumita Laha (1989)

  • First Commercial test Pilot of the world—Capt. Surun Darsi and Capt. Rose Lopar

  • Pilot of Indian Air Force—Harita Daoel

  • Ramon Magsaysay Prize awardee—Kiran Bedi

  • Heroin awarded Dada Sahaib Phalke Prize—Devika Rani Rorik

  • Youngest woman who scaled the Mt. Everest twice—Decky Dolma

  • Scientist who was awarded Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award—Ashima Chatterjee

  • Foreign Secretary—Chokila Ayyar

  • Twice scaled the Mt. Everest—Santosh Yadav

  • First Chief Secretary of the Country—Nirmla Buch

  • First Space traveller—Kalpana Chawla

  • Joint Director of C.B.I.—Archana Sunder Lingam

  • Winner of Murti Devi Prize—Pratibha Rai

  • Woman Contested the Presidential election—Capt. Laxmi Sahgal

  • Non-military Police Advisor in U.N.O.—Kiran Bedi

  • Revenue Secretary—Vinita Rai

  •  Referee in Boxing—Rajia Sabnam

  • First woman of Indian origin who stayed for the longest time in space—Sunita William

  • Air Vice-Marshal and Air-Marshal in Indian Air Force—P. Bondyopaddhyay


Share this Post

(इस पोस्ट को अपने दोस्तों के साथ शेयर करना ना भूले)

Posts in Other Categories

Get Latest Update(like G.K, Latest Job, Exam Alert, Study Material, Previous year papers etc) on your Email and Whatsapp
Subscribe now

for Latest Updates

Articles, Jobs, MCQ and many more!