banner ad

Time Person of the Year 2016- Trump USA

By Vikash Suyal | News | Dec 10, 2016

Person of the Year Meaning

“Person of the year” is an award given to an individual by any type of organization. It is given by a newspaper or other news outlet to annually recognize a public person. Such awards have typically been awarded to one person, near or after the end of a calendar year. Mostly the awardee is usually someone widely known via a news media’s audience.

History about the Time Person of the Year

It has a great origin story. At the end of 1927, the editors of Time looked at the year’s covers and realized they had somehow failed to put Charles Lindbergh on the cover. He’d done his historic flight in May, but no cover. They decided they could get away with putting him on the cover month later by calling him “Person of the year”. The challenge is that on one hand, we are trying to make a decision about who best represents the news of the year.

Time Person of the year 2016

Donald Trump is Time's Person of the Year 2016. Time magazine, unsurprisingly, has named President-elect Donald J. Trump its person of the year for 2016, calling him the “president of the divided states of America.” Donald Trump was awarded Time Person of the Year for redrawing American politics. The winner of Time Person of the Year was announced on 7 December 2016.

Everyone wants to know why Donald Trump win Time Person of the year 2016? Because, it is common in US election years for the president-elect to be crowned Time Person of year.

“Bill Clinton won Time Person of the year in 1992, the year he was elected President.”

“His successor George W Bush was Time Person of the Year twice, first when he landed the Presidency in 2000 and then again in 2004 when he was re-elected.”

“Barack Obama too won the accolade in the years of his Presidential election victories, 2008 and 2012.”

So, that means it was always highly likely Donald Trump would be the winner in 2016.

Shortlist for Time Person of the Year 2016

  • British politician Nigel Farage

  • US Olympic gymnast Simone Biles

  • Russia's CRISPR scientists, who have developed technology that can edit DNA

  • Turkish Preisdent Recep Tayyip Erdogan

  • Residents of Flint, Michigan who blew the whistle on lead-poisoned water

  • Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi

  • Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg

  • US President-elect Donald Trump

  • US singer Beyonce

  • Hackers

Time Person of the Year in Public Poll

India's Prime Minister “Narendra Modi” won the public vote for Time Person of the Year 2016. He outstripped the competition by miles, gaining 18 per cent of the vote - over double the share gained by Barack Obama, Donald Trump and Julian Assange, who all received 7%.
banner ad

Share this Post

(इस पोस्ट को अपने दोस्तों के साथ शेयर करना ना भूले)

Posts in Other Categories

Get Latest Update(like G.K, Latest Job, Exam Alert, Study Material, Previous year papers etc) on your Email and Whatsapp
Subscribe now

for Latest Updates

Articles, Jobs, MCQ and many more!